Quitter

The other side of disappointment (a hopeful complaint)

Too often I feel disappointed with the quality of products or systems (work methodologies, politics, myself, etc.). It makes me feel exhausted, sometimes even disgusted, like I won't be able to enjoy anything ever again.

I sometimes wished I were less insightful or demanding so as to not be aware of many things I despise. Not being able to identify things precisely wouldn't mean they wouldn't affect me, but it would certainly make it easier to evade myself from them.

However, being less sensitive would also mean that I wouldn't be able to enjoy things as intensely and qualitatively as I do. Luckily, things make me happy as intensely as they make me sad; I feel a really strong connection and appreciation for objects, living things, skill and learning.

I try to think that frustration and disappointment cannot exist without knowledge, rigor and passion for what I do, and I try to purposely set up time and activities to feel that joy.